Universities Training College

The Universities Training College (UTC) brings together a wide range of university-based counselling and psychotherapy programmes. It therefore covers a wide range of psychotherapy approaches and experience.

UTC aims to improve the standards of academic psychotherapeutic training and education. It provides a forum for further developing an academic research base for psychotherapeutic counselling and psychotherapy through university-based training programmes.

Members of the Universities Training College (UTC) are registered through our member organisation, Universities Psychotherapy and Counselling Association (UPCA).

College Chair

Neil Gibson

07817 457916

Contact the Universities Psychotherapy and Counselling Association (UPCA)

07928 603663


Training and accrediting organisation for this college
Approved training programmes
  • Birmingham Newman University
  • Brighton University
  • Cambridge
  • New School of Psychotherapy and Counselling (NSPC)
  • Oxford University
  • Warwick University
Standards of Education and Training

You can read about the standards of education and training for The Universities Training College on our standards, guidance and policies page.

Find a therapist near you